Oversight

Oversight of the intelligence service
 

 

Since January 1, 2016, the State Intelligence Service has been headed by Doris Woltz (see CV). The SRE comprises four internal divisions: Intelligence, Administration, Technical, and National Security Authority.

Professionalism and legal security

The challenge today for the SRE is to provide efficient prevention while ensuring a high degree of protection for individuals and their privacy. To safeguard the legal security of both Luxembourg's residents and its intelligence professionals, the current legislation has strengthened supervision of the agency through an oversight system with four components, three 'upstream' and one 'downstream':

Political: A ministerial intelligence committee, currently comprising three members of the government (Prime Minister and two Deputy Prime Ministers), sets the country's overall intelligence policy, determines the general priorities of the SRE's activities, which it monitors on an ongoing basis. The director reports to the ministerial committee once a month.

Administrative: The government appoints a representative to the SRE holding a 'Top Secret' security clearance to monitor its internal functioning and report regularly to the minister responsible for the agency. Nothing can be kept secret from the government's representative, who has individual powers of investigation and oversight within the SRE. However, the representative is not involved in day-to-day operations, which remain the sole responsibility of the director.

Judicial: A special committee consists of three senior judges, the president of the Supreme Court of Justice, the president of the Administrative Court and the president of the District Court of Luxembourg. Operational methods and techniques, such as the use of intrusion technology and surveillance of all kinds of communication, must be supported by the special committee before being authorised by the ministerial committee.

Parliamentary: The activities of the SRE are subject to supervision by a special parliamentary committee, consisting of representatives of political and technical groups designated by them. (Regulation of the Chamber of Deputies, coordinated text up to date on 16 January 2018 (annex 2))

At present, this oversight is exercised on a monthly basis. The director of the SRE reports to the parliamentary oversight committee at least once every quarter about all SRE activities. The committee is informed every six months about surveillance and communication monitoring measures, and may, at its own initiative, request oversight of specific aspects of the SRE's activities.

Processing personal data

The director is responsible for the processing of personal data in the course of the SRE's activities. According to article 10 of the law of July 5, 2016 on the  reorganisation of the Service de renseignement de l'État, the director appoints a data protection officer, whose responsibility is to ensure compliance with the law of August 1, 2018 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data in the scope of criminal matters and national security, as well as the implementation of the SRE's security measures for processing such data.

The supervisory authority established under Article 3 of the law of August 1, 2018 on the creation of the National Commission for Data Protection and the overall data protection regime has the power to check and verify whether the SRE is respecting the legal requirements under Article 39 of the law of August 1, 2018 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data in the scope of criminal matters and national security.

Article 13 of the before mentioned law regulates the right of access of the data subject, who has a right to obtain confirmation whether or not the SRE is processing personal data concerning him. According to Article 14, the controller may restrict, fully or partially, the right of access of the data subject, if it is necessary in particular to protect national security. Furthermore, data subjects have a right to request the rectification or deletion of personal data concerning them, or the restriction of processing (Article 15).

 

To do so, they should contact: 

Service de Renseignement de l'État

B.P. 467

L-2014 Luxembourg

Data protection officer: sre_dpo@me.etat.lu 

In the event that an individual believes the handling of personal data concerning them contravenes the requirements of the law of August 1, 2018 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data in the scope of criminal matters and national security, they may lodge a complaint with the National Data Protection Commission (Article 44 (1)).

Financial supervision

Luxembourg's Court of Auditors conducts periodic checks on the SRE's financial management.

Last update

Aufsicht

Nachrichtendienst: Eine umfassend kontrollierte Aufgabe

Seit dem 1. Januar 2016 ist Doris Woltz die Direktorin des Staatlichen Nachrichtendienstes (siehe Lebenslauf). Der Dienst umfasst vier Abteilungen: Informationsbeschaffung und -auswertung, Verwaltung, Technik, Nationale Sicherheitsbehörde.

Professionalität und Rechtssicherheit

Heute besteht die Herausforderung für den Staatlichen Nachrichtendienst darin, eine hohe Professionalität der Prävention mit einem hohen Schutz des Einzelnen und seiner Privatsphäre zu verbinden. Um sowohl den Bürgern als auch den Nachrichtendienstmitarbeitern Rechtssicherheit zu garantieren, stärkte der Gesetzgeber die Kontrolle des SRE durch die Einführung eines Kontrollsystems auf vier Ebenen, drei vorgeschalteten Ebenen und einer im Nachhinein:

politische Ebene: Der Ministerausschuss für den Nachrichtendienst, der sich aktuell aus drei Mitgliedern der Regierung (Staatsminister und zwei Vizepremierminister) zusammensetzt, arbeitet die allgemeine Nachrichtendienstpolitik aus und legt die Ausrichtungen der SRE-Tätigkeiten fest. Er ist ebenfalls mit der ständigen Überwachung dieser Tätigkeiten betraut. Einmal im Monat erstattet der Direktor dem Ausschuss Bericht.

administrative Ebene: Die Regierung ernennt einen SRE-Beauftragten. Als Inhaber einer Sicherheitsermächtigung der Stufe "STRENG GEHEIM" hat er die Aufgabe, die interne Funktionsweise des Dienstes zu überwachen, und erstattet dem zuständigen Minister regelmäßig Bericht. Ihm darf keine Information verweigert werden. Er verfügt im SRE über eine eigene Ermittlungs- und Kontrollkompetenz, ohne sich aber in die laufende Ausübung der Aufgaben des Dienstes einmischen zu können, da diese allein der Verantwortung des Direktors untersteht.

die Ebene der Justizbehörden: Eine Sonderkommission wird aus drei Richtern, dem Vorsitzenden des Obersten Gerichtshofes, dem Vorsitzenden des Verwaltungsgerichtes und dem Vorsitzenden des Bezirksgerichts Luxemburg, zusammengesetzt. Verschiedene operative Mittel und Maßnahmen des SRE, wie der Einsatz technischer Mittel zum Eindringen und zur Überwachung aller Kommunikationsformen, werden zunächst von der Sonderkommission befürwortet, bevor sie vom Ministerausschuss angeordnet werden.

die parlamentarische Ebene: Die Tätigkeiten des SRE unterstehen der Kontrolle der parlamentarischen Kontrollkommission für den Staatlichen Nachrichtendienst. Diese setzt sich aus Vertretern der politischen Gruppen und Fachgruppen zusammen, die von diesen vorgeschlagen werden. (Reglement der Abgeordnetenkammer, koordinierter Text, aktualisiert am 16. Januar 2018)

Aktuell werden diese Kontrollen auf monatlicher Basis durchgeführt. Der SRE-Direktor informiert die parlamentarische Kontrollkommission auf mindestens vierteljährlicher Basis über alle Tätigkeiten des SRE. Die Kommission wird alle sechs Monate über Überwachungs- und Kontrollmaßnahmen von Kommunikationen informiert. Sie kann aus Eigeninitiative heraus gezielte Kontrollen der Tätigkeiten des SRE beantragen.

Die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten

Der SRE-Direktor ist verantwortlich für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten, die der Ausübung der Aufgaben des SRE dienen. Laut Artikel 10 des überarbeiteten Gesetzes vom 5. Juli 2016 über die Neuorganisation des Staatlichen Nachrichtendienstes ernennt der Direktor einen Datenschutzbeauftragten, der für die Anwendung des Gesetzes vom 1. August 2018 über den Schutz natürlicher Personen hinsichtlich der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten in Strafsachen sowie in Angelegenheiten der nationalen Sicherheit und für die Durchführung von Sicherheitsmaßnahmen der Verarbeitung durch den SRE verantwortlich ist. 

Die durch Artikel 3 des Gesetzes vom 1. August 2018 über die Schaffung der Nationalen Kommission für den Datenschutz und der allgemeinen Datenschutzregelung eingeführte Kontrollinstanz ist dafür zuständig, entsprechend Art. 39 des Gesetzes vom 1. August 2018 über den Schutz natürlicher Personen hinsichtlich der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten in Strafsachen sowie in Angelegenheiten der nationalen Sicherheit zu kontrollieren und zu überprüfen, ob sich der SRE an die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen hält.

Artikel 13 des letztgenannten Gesetzes vom 1. August 2018 regelt das Zugangsrecht der betroffenen Person. So hat die Person das Recht, vom Verantwortlichen für die Verarbeitung die Bestätigung zu erhalten, ob personenbezogene Daten zu ihrer Person verarbeitet werden oder nicht. Laut Artikel 14 des Gesetzes kann der Zuständige für die Verarbeitung jedoch das Zugangsrecht der betroffenen Person ganz oder teilweise einschränken, insbesondere zum Schutz der nationalen Sicherheit. Weiterhin hat die betroffene Person das Recht, die Richtigstellung oder das Löschen der personenbezogenen Daten sowie die Einschränkung der Verarbeitung dieser Daten zu fordern (Art. 15). 

Kontakt

Service de Renseignement de l'État

B.P. 467

L-2014 Luxembourg

Datenschutzbeauftragter: sre_dpo@me.etat.lu 

 

Im Falle, dass eine Person die Verarbeitung der sie betreffenden personenbezogenen Daten als Verletzung der Bestimmungen des Gesetzes vom 1. August 2018 erachtet, kann sie bei der Nationalen Kommission für den Datenschutz eine Beschwerde einlegen. (Art. 44 (1))

Finanzkontrolle

Der Rechnungshof gewährleistet eine regelmäßige Kontrolle der Rechnungsführung des SRE.

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am